Cook-It-Yourself Chinese – March 25

So I don’t ever weigh myself but I can tell I lost a LOT of weight in Miami. Probably from dancing all day long to the incredible music and only eating like once a day (didn’t really have time to eat because I was too busy running from set to set! If you’re an avid festival-goer you know what I’m talking about)! So I decided to go back to my Asian roots and attempt some recipes I’ve been meaning to try out for awhile, even though they are totally NOT healthy. I guess they’re healthier than they would be at a restaurant though, if that makes you feel any better.

Oyster and hoisin sauce stir fried broccoli and my first attempt at sweet and sour chicken:

20130326-134357.jpg

The oyster and hoisin sauce stir fried broccoli was my own concoction:

Ingredients:
• 1 1/2 pounds fresh broccoli
• 4 cups of water
• 3 cloves of garlic (minced)
• 3 tablespoons oyster sauce
• 2 tablespoons hoisin sauce
• 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
• 2 tablespoons canola oil

Cooking Instructions:
1. Wash broccoli and cut into florets
2. Boil in 4 cups of water until desired tenderness
3. Drain
4. Heat canola oil in saucepan and toss in garlic
5. Add broccoli florets
6. Coat broccoli with oyster sauce, hoisin sauce and ground pepper
7. Mix around until broccoli is evenly coated.

I got the sweet and sour chicken recipe from Made It. Ate It. Loved It.

Very simple recipe, but I will have to try to make mine look better next time. But OMG there is a TON of sugar in sweet and sour chicken. Probably can’t make this again haha. I get enough sugar from my candy addiction…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

